Marriage license applications may be completed online, or in person at the Lane County Clerk's Office located in the Public Service Building at 125 E. 8th Ave in downtown Eugene.
Whether you complete the marriage license application online or in our office, before your marriage ceremony, both parties must appear together in our office to sign the marriage license and pay the required fees.
Online Marriage License Application
Marriage licenses are also available from the Lane County Justice Court located in Florence, Monday through Thursday, from 9 am to 1 pm. You cannot use the online form if you plan to get your license from the court. When applying in Florence, applicants must fill out the paper form available from the court office.
No one under 17 years of age may marry in Oregon. A 17-year-old may marry with the consent of a parent or guardian. Consent forms are available from the Lane County Clerk’s Office.
While marriage applications may be submitted online or completed from the computers in our lobby, you must visit our office to pay for and obtain the license before your marriage ceremony.
After you visit our office to pay the required fees, complete your application, and receive your marriage license, there is a three-day waiting period before you may marry.
The waiting period may be waived. To do so, you must complete a waiver request form and pay the $60 marriage license fee and the $10 waiver fee in cash. Both parties must be present to obtain a waiver.
Once issued, the marriage license is valid for 60 days and may be used anywhere in Oregon.
The following information is required on the marriage license for each party to the marriage:
If either party has been married before, you will need to know the ending date of the last marriage
We strongly recommend that you bring your birth certificates in to our office when applying for your marriage license. This is because various state and federal agencies require that the information on your marriage license exactly match the corresponding information on your birth certificate.
Legal Names Taken
Under Oregon law, both the bride and groom may change their middle and/or last names through marriage. The names selected when the marriage license is issued become the legal names for the parties. If you desire a different name after marriage, you will need to go through a court name-change process. (The Deeds and Records Office sells paperwork for the court name-change process.)
The online marriage application offers most of the legal name change options available to couples seeking to marry. Either party may choose to retain their last name, change their last name to the other person’s last name, or combine their current last name with the other person’s last name in any order, with or without hyphenation. This also applies to those who have multiple last names. A person with multiple last names may choose to drop one of those names if desired, and someone marrying a person with multiple last names may choose to take either or both of the other person’s last names. If you have a middle name, you have the option of keeping it or dropping it.
If your last name at birth is different from your current last name, you have options regarding adding that name back. If you are interested in that, please discuss those options with the marriage license clerk
More information from the Oregon Health Authority about name changes.
Cost of the Marriage License
The total cost of a marriage license is $60.00, which is non-refundable. Optional commemorative marriage certificates are available for $1.00.
For payment, we accept checks, money orders, cash, and credit or debit cards. Checks and money orders should be made payable to Lane County Deeds and Records. All credit and debit card transactions are subject to a 3% convenience fee that goes directly to the bank to cover the cost of processing the card transaction. We are unable to process credit card payments by mail or over the telephone.
There is no requirement for ordained officiants to register with the state or county prior to performing a marriage ceremony. Officiants must meet the requirements of ORS 106.120.
It is the responsibility of the officiant to properly complete the Marriage License form. Please refer to the “Instructions to Officiants” document included in the marriage packet for more information.
We do not make referrals to officiants who are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies. For available officiants, please consult the yellow pages in your telephone book.
Neither a medical examination nor a blood test is required.
Civil Marriage Ceremonies
Lane County Deputy Clerks are available to perform civil marriage ceremonies at the Public Service Building at 9:30am and 10:30am, Monday through Friday. These ceremonies are performed by appointment only.
In order to schedule your marriage ceremony appointment you must have purchased your marriage license. The fee for a civil ceremony is $105.00 and is due at the time of the ceremony. The fee is non-refundable.
Couples are required to bring two witnesses to the ceremony.
Ordering a Certified Copy of Your Marriage License
A certified copy of your marriage license record will be required to show your legal name and relationship status after marriage. A certified copy will not automatically be mailed to you. In order to obtain one either come in to our office; or mail us a request using the form below.
You may purchase a certified copy of your Lane County marriage license either in person at our office, or by mail. To purchase a certified copy of a Lane County marriage license by mail, complete and print the fillable pdf form found below Mail the form to the address below along with a check for $7.75 for the first certified copy, plus $4.00 for each additional certified copy. Checks should be made payable to: Lane County Deeds and Records.
Request a Certified Copy of a Marriage License
To order, mail your request and check to
Lane County Marriage Section
125 East 8th Ave
Eugene, OR 97401
The certified copy or copies will be returned to you by mail.
If the marriage license was issued by another Oregon county, contact that county to order, or order from the State of Oregon's Center for Health Statistics.