On October 26, 2011, the Lane County Board of Commissioners voted 3-2 to pass Ordinance 9-11 (Scenario 8).

Click Here for an Interactive Map of Scenarios

How-to Guide for viewing Interactive Maps 

Redistricting Scenarios

Why Change Commissioner District Boundaries?
Every 10 years, the Lane County Board of Commissioners must renew and, if necessary, adjust the Commissioner Districts based on population information from the U.S. Census. Redistricting may be necessary to ensure that each district is more evenly distributed in popoulation so as to not deny any person equal protection of the law.  The Lane County Board of Commissioners last adjusted Commissioner Districts in 2001.

Who Approves Commissioner Boundaries?
The Lane County Board of Commissioners will determine district boundaries following receipt of recommendations from the Redistricting Task Force and a public hearing process. Per the Lane County Charter, final Commissioner District boundaries must be adopted at least six months prior to any election for which they are to be effective. In this case, the boundaries must be adopted by November 12, 2011 in advance of the May 15, 2012 primary election.

In May, Lane County took in applications for citizen involvement on a Redistricting Task Force. After receiveing several responses, the Board of Commissioners appointed members on April 27, 2011.  These 5 members then recommended an additional 2 at large members for the Board to appoint.  These appointments were made by the Board on August 3, 2011.

Will Your Commissioner District Change?
Depending on how the boundaries are adjusted, it could change. Stay tuned for a report on the progress of the Task Force as they make  recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners. Community members are encouraged to participate in the public hearing process. Check back for more information on the upcoming Public Hearing.

What Criteria will the Task Force and Board Use in Its Decision? 
Equal Population                                Community of Common Interest
Geographic boundaries                    Transportation links
Existing district boundaries           Language and ethnic minorities
Incumbents                                          No favoritism to any person
Contiguity                                            Additional considerations - city boundaires, urban growth boundaries
Political boundaries

Task Force Meetings

Click Here for a full description of the Criteria & Redistricting Timeline

Online Resources
State of Oregon Legislative Information
Eugene Neighborhoods
4J School Boundaires
Springfield School District Boundaries
Legislative Districts

Redistricting Task Force Members
Dan Egan  -Chair                   (appointed by Commissioner Leiken)
Diane Wiley -Vice Chair     (At Large)   
Scott Bartlett                          (appointed by Commissioner Sorenson)
David Crowell                         (appointed by Commissioner Bozievich)
Bill Dwyer                                (appointed by Commissioner Handy)
Steve Cornacchia                  (At Large) 
Bill Van Vactor                      (appointed by Commissioner Stewart)

Staff Contacts
Judy Williams - Support to Task Force      541-682-4527           
Cheryl Betschart  - County Clerk                  541-682-4328
Stephen Vorhes    - Legal Counsel                541-682-3739