FAQ - Traffic Enforcement 

 

Does the Sheriff’s Office have deputies who will do a child seat inspection?

Many communities sponsor child safety seat check up events.  Contact ACTS Oregon Child Safety Seat Resource Center at (800) 772-1315 or (503) 656-7207, or visit www.childsafetyseat.org for a schedule of free child safety seat inspection events.

What should I do if I don’t have enough seat belts for everyone in my car/truck?  Is there a difference if it is a minor or an adult?

You need to be in compliance with the following Oregon Revised Statutes  (ORS 811.210 and ORS 811.215) which can be found at: http://landru.leg.state.or.us/ors/811.html

811.210 Failure to properly use safety belts; penalty.

(1) A person commits the offense of failure to properly use safety belts if the person:

(a) Operates a motor vehicle on the highways of this state and is not properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness as required by subsection (2) of this section;

(b) Operates a motor vehicle on the highways of this state with a passenger who is under 16 years of age and the passenger is not properly secured with a child safety system, safety belt or safety harness as required by subsection (2) of this section;

(c) Is a passenger in a privately owned commercial vehicle, as defined in ORS 801.210, that is designed and used for the transportation of 15 or fewer persons, including the driver, and the person is 16 years of age or older and is responsible for another passenger who is not properly secured with a child safety system as required under subsection (2)(a), (b) or (c) of this section; or

(d) Is a passenger in a motor vehicle on the highways of this state who is 16 years of age or older and who is not properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness as required by subsection (2) of this section.

(2) To comply with this section:

(a) A person who is under one year of age, regardless of weight, or a person who weighs 20 pounds or less must be properly secured with a child safety system in a rear-facing position.

(b) A person who weighs 40 pounds or less must be properly secured with a child safety system that meets the minimum standards and specifications established by the Department of Transportation under ORS 815.055 for child safety systems designed for children weighing 40 pounds or less.

(c) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, a person who weighs more than 40 pounds and who is four feet nine inches or shorter must be properly secured with a child safety system that elevates the person so that a safety belt or safety harness properly fits the person. As used in this paragraph, “properly fits” means the lap belt of the safety belt or safety harness is positioned low across the thighs and the shoulder belt is positioned over the collarbone and away from the neck. The child safety system shall meet the minimum standards and specifications established by the Department of Transportation under ORS 815.055 for child safety systems designed for children who are four feet nine inches or shorter.

(d) A person who is taller than four feet nine inches must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness that meets requirements under ORS 815.055.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (b) and (c) of this subsection, a person who is eight years of age or older need not be secured with a child safety system but must be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness that meets requirements under ORS 815.055.

(3) If the rear seat of a vehicle is not equipped with shoulder belts, the requirements of subsection (2)(c) of this section do not apply provided the person is secured by a lap belt.
(4) The offense described in this section, failure to properly use safety belts, is a Class D traffic violation.

 811.215 Exemptions from safety belt requirements. ORS 811.210 does not apply to:

(1) Privately owned commercial vehicles that are being used for the transportation of persons for compensation or profit. The exemption in this subsection does not apply to any of the following:

(a) Motor carriers, as defined in ORS 825.005, when operating in interstate commerce.

(b) Vehicles designed and used for the transportation of 15 or fewer persons, including the driver, except that the operator of a vehicle described in this paragraph is not required to:

(A) Be properly secured with a safety belt or safety harness as required by ORS 811.210 if the operator is a taxicab operator; or

(B) Ensure that a passenger is properly secured with a child safety system as described in ORS 811.210 (2)(a), (b) or (c).

(2) Any vehicle not required to be equipped with safety belts or safety harnesses at the time the vehicle was manufactured, unless safety belts or safety harnesses have been installed in the vehicle.

(3) Any vehicle exempted by ORS 815.080 from requirements to be equipped upon sale with safety belts or safety harnesses.

(4) Any person for whom a certificate is issued by the Department of Transportation under ORS 811.220.

(5) Any person who is a passenger in a vehicle if all seating positions in the vehicle are occupied by other persons.

(6) Any person who is being transported while in the custody of a police officer or any law enforcement agency.

(7) Any person who is delivering newspapers or mail in the regular course of work.

(8) Any person who is riding in an ambulance for the purpose of administering medical aid to another person in the ambulance, if being secured by a safety belt or safety harness would substantially inhibit the administration of medical aid.

(9) Any person who is reading utility meters in the regular course of work.

(10) Any person who is employed to operate a vehicle owned by a mass transit district while the vehicle is being used for the transportation of passengers in the public transportation system of the district.

(11) Any person who is collecting solid waste or recyclable materials in the regular course of work.


Who do I talk to about paying my ticket?

For parking tickets received in Eugene – contact the Eugene Municipal Court at (541) 682-5400. 

For traffic citations issued by the Lane County Sheriff’s Office, contact Lane County Circuit Court


My license is suspended due to an unpaid ticket, who should I talk to about making payments?
This will depend on which court you were cited into.  Citations issued by our deputies are through  Lane County Circuit Court.  Please contact them with any questions you may have.  

I received a citation and need to speak to the Judge/Court about it.  Who do I call?
The Court that will be hearing your case is notated at the bottom of your citation.  If the citation lists Lane County Circuit Court, you will need to contact them with any questions.   

 

I’ve lost my traffic citation.  How do I know who to pay?
If you were ticketed by a Lane County Sheriff’s deputy, you can contact our Police Records Unit at 541-682-3775 between 11am – 6pm Mon-Fri and 11am-3pm on Saturday.

If you were ticketed by a Eugene police officer, contact Eugene Police Records at 541-682-5116.

If you were ticketed by a Springfield police officer, contact Springfield Police at 541-726-3714.

If you were ticketed by an Oregon State trooper, contact their office at 541-726-2525.


There are cars/motorcycles that speed by my house – who do I talk to about getting a deputy out?

The Sheriff's Office no longer has funding for deputies assigned to traffic enforcement duties.    
 

If you want to request that the Speed Trailer be brought to your neighborhood, please leave a voicemail for Sgt. Campbell at 541-682-2633 ext. 9554.


A street
sign is down, who do I notify?

If the sign in question is a stop sign, you should contact our Dispatch Center at 541-682-4141.  Stop signs are a priority for replacement and crews work 24/7 to replace them.

 

If the sign in question is a street sign or other non-critical sign, you should contact Lane County Public Works at 541-682-6900, or report it to them via email at sign.shop@co.lane.or.us

 

When reporting downed signs, it is very helpful if you provide information about the condition of the sign post.  This allows crews to know if a replacement post will be necessary, or if the sign merely needs to be re-set.  If a sign is damaged, this information should also be reported.

Return to Frequently Asked Questions