Ballots mailed today, Thursday, April 28

Ballots mailed today, Thursday, April 28
Posted on 04/28/2022

Lane County Elections mailed ballots today for the May 17, 2022 Primary Election. Most voters should receive their ballots by Wednesday, May 4.


Voters who do not receive a ballot for the May 17, 2022 Primary Election can check on the status of their registration and ballot at They may also contact Lane County Elections at 541-682-4234 to determine if they need to update their voter registration in order to receive a ballot.


As a reminder, Oregon conducts closed primary elections. A closed primary means that only voters registered as Democrats will receive ballots with Democratic candidates for partisan offices. Only voters registered as Republicans will receive ballots with Republican candidates for partisan offices. Voters not affiliated with a political party will not receive ballots that include that party’s candidates for partisan offices. In November, voters will be able to vote on all candidates regardless of political affiliation. 


“Voters will also notice that there is no longer a secrecy sleeve included with their ballot,” said Lane County Clerk Cheryl Betschart. “This will help reduce paper waste and allow Elections employees to process ballots more quickly. Your vote is still private and no one will be able to connect your name to how you voted on any issue or candidate.”


Voters may drop off their ballots at one of many official drop box locations listed in the insert included with their ballot. Drop boxes are now open and will remain open until 8:00 p.m. on Election Day. A map of drop box locations is also available online. 


Voters may also return their ballots via mail by using the pre-stamped return envelope. Ballots must be postmarked no later than May 17, 2022; however, voters are encouraged to return them to the post office before May 17 to ensure their ballots are postmarked by the deadline.


Assistance is available over the phone at 541-682-4234 (weekdays from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and on Election Day from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.) and via email at [email protected].