Birth Certificates

Birth Certificates are only available through Lane County Vital Records from date of birth until 5 months and 28 days, for babies born in Lane County.

After 5 months and 28 days, Birth Certificates must be ordered from Oregon State Vital Records, in Portland.

How to order (see menu below):

Birth Certificates (Under 5 Months & 28 Days)

Please note: Lane County Vital Records in Eugene, Oregon can only print Birth Certificates for babies born in Lane County younger than 5 months and 28 days:

    

Mail Orders*
(Please include): 
  • Order Form
  • Check or Money Order (Please do not mail cash!)
 *See additional options for Vital Records orders (by phone, mail or drop-off).       

*Note: Birth Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law. To find out whether the record is
available, please contact Lane County Vital Records. 

Download order form in English.
(Bajar la forma de solicitud en español.)

For individuals older than 5 months and 28 days (or born outside of Lane County), please see below.

For online and phone orders, see below.

Birth Certificates (Over 5 Months & 28 Days)

Birth Certificates for individuals older than 5 months and 28 days (or born outside of Lane County) must be ordered through Oregon State Vital Records in Portland, Oregon. *COVID-19 Update* State of Oregon Vital Records located in Portland, OR is currently closed for walk-ins. They are processing birth certificate requests by phone, mail, drop-box or online. They have partnered with VitalChek for internet orders. Please refer to their website for further ordering procedures or call 971-673-1190.



 
     
    *Birth Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law.



       
    For mail and in-person orders, visit Oregon State Vital Records website.

    For online and phone orders, see below.



    Online Ordering Information

    Lane County Vital Records website currently does not support ordering online. Oregon State Vital Records office in Portland, Oregon recommends VitalChek for online orders. You can also order by phone 24/7 through VitalChek by calling toll free 1-888-896-4988.

    Please be aware of numerous online scams and contact Oregon State Vital Records, in Portland, Oregon if you have any questions about whether a website is legitimate before ordering online.

    Updated


    Ordering in Person in Portland, Oregon

    *currently not available due to COVID-19*        

              
    State of Oregon Vital Records located in Portland, OR is currently closed for walk-ins. They are processing birth certificate requests by phone, mail, drop-box or online. 

    State of Oregon Vital Records have partnered with VitalChek for internet orders. Please refer to their website for further ordering procedures or call 971-673-1190.
                                                

                       

        *Birth Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law. 

         



        Fees: $25 per Birth Certificate*
        (click below for more information)

        Fees and Payment Methods


        For Babies -- Lane County Vital Records (Eugene, Oregon)

        (Under 5 Months & 28 Days, Born in Lane County)      
          
           

        Fees: $25.00 per Birth Certificate

        Payment Methods:


        Mail Orders:

        Walk-in Orders:
          • Checks, Money Orders  • Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Paypal, Union Pay) 
         • (Please do not mail cash)  • Cash, Checks, Money Orders


        For Older Individuals -- Oregon Vital Records (Portland, Oregon)

        (Individuals Older Than 5 Months & 28 Days, or Born Outside Lane County)

        Fees: See Oregon State Vital Records Fee Information

        Payment Methods:

        Mail Orders: Walk-in Orders:
        Checks, Money Orders accepted for mail orders only.

        (Please do not mail cash)

        Visa, Mastercard, Cash.

        (Checks not accepted for in-person orders)




        Online and Phone Orders 

         Fees and Payment Methods: See VitalChek Fee Information



        Please note: Birth Certificates are not public records and are subject to limited access for directly related family members or as permitted under Oregon Statute.