Death Certificates

Death Certificates are only available through Lane County Vital Records from date of death until 6 months, for deaths which occurred in Lane County.

After 6 months, Death Certificates must be ordered from Oregon State Vital Records, in Portland.

How to order (see menu below):

Death Certificates (Under 6 Months)

Please note: Lane County Vital Records in Eugene, Oregon can only print Death Certificates for deaths which occurred in Lane County less than 6 months ago.

Helpful hint: If possible, find out before ordering what you will need the Death Certificate for. This helps us determine what type of Death Certificate you will need.


Mail Orders*
(Please include): 
 
Walk-in Orders*
(No Appointment Required):
  • Order Form
  • Check or Money Order (Please do not mail cash!)
  • Order in person for same-day service*
  • Come prepared to pay for each Birth Certificate that you order.
  • Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Paypal, Union Pay), Cash, Check, Money Order accepted for walk-in orders.                  

      *Note: Death Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law. To find out whether the record is
      available, please contact Lane County Vital Records. 



      Download Death Certificate Order Form in English. (Bajar la Solicitud para el Acta de Defunción en español)

      For deaths over 6 months (or deaths which occurred outside of Lane County), please see below.


      Death Certificates (Over 6 Months)

      Death Certificates for persons who died more than 6 months ago (or who died outside of Lane County) must be ordered through Oregon State Vital Records in Portland, Oregon.

      Helpful hints for ordering in person in Portland:
                       
      • Bring Photo ID

      (If you don't have ID, see list of other acceptable proofs.)           

      • Bring Cash, Credit Card, or Debit Card only

      (To ensure same-day* service)

         
        *Death Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law.

        Arrive early to make sure the Death Certificate is ready. Corrections might not be processed same-day.


        For mail and in person orders, visit Oregon State Vital Records website.

        For online and phone orders, see below.

        Online Ordering Information

        Lane County Vital Records website currently does not support ordering online. Oregon State Vital Records office in Portland, Oregon recommends VitalChek for online orders. You can also order by phone 24/7 through VitalChek by calling toll free 1-888-896-4988.

        Please be aware of numerous online scams and contact Oregon State Vital Records, in Portland, Oregon if you have any questions about whether a website is legitimate before ordering online.

        UPdate


        Helpful hints for ordering in person in Portland:
        • Bring Photo ID

        (If you don't have ID, see list of other acceptable proofs.)                     

        • Bring Cash, Credit Card, or Debit Card only

          (To ensure same-day* service)

        *Birth Certificates print only after the record is available and as permitted by law.

        Arrive early to make sure the Birth Certificate is ready. Corrections might not be processed same-day.


        Fees: $25 per Death Certificate (click below for more information)

        Fees and Payment Methods


                    Recent Deaths -- Lane County Vital Records (Eugene, Oregon)

        (Under 6 Months Ago, Died in Lane County)      
          
           

        Fees: $25.00 per Birth Certificate

        Payment Methods:


        Mail Orders:

        Walk-in Orders:
          • Checks, Money Orders  • Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Paypal, Union Pay) 
         • (Please do not mail cash)  • Cash, Checks, Money Orders

         


                    Less Recent Deaths -- Oregon Vital Records (Portland, Oregon)

        (Over 6 Months Ago or Died Outside Lane County)

        Fees: See Oregon State Vital Records Fee Information

        Payment Methods:

        Mail Orders: Walk-in Orders:
        Checks, Money Orders accepted for mail orders only.

        (Please do not mail cash)

        Visa, Mastercard, Cash.

        (Checks not accepted for in-person orders)

         


        Online and Phone Orders 

         Fees and Payment Methods: See VitalChek Fee Information



        Please note: Death Certificates are not public records and are subject to limited access for directly related family members or as permitted under Oregon Statute.