NPDES Phase II Annual reports

Lane County’s stormwater system throughout the Eugene-Springfield Metro area is one of approximately 7,250 permitted Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s), in the nation. We are allowed to discharge our stormwater system to waters of the state (such as Willamette River or Amazon Creek) by maintaining our National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) MS4 Phase II general permit with Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). This permit was most recently issued in 2019 and requires, the County to develop and implement a comprehensive Stormwater Management Program (SWMP) that must include pollution prevention measures, treatment or removal techniques, monitoring, use of legal authority, and other appropriate measures to control the quality of storm water discharged to the storm drains and, ultimately, to waters of the United States. Lane County strives to use a basin wide approach to meet the requirements of the Phase II permit. 

In order to efficiently meet the DEQ permit requirements and provide consistent stormwater regulation throughout the Metro area, Lane County has partnered with the adjoining cities of Eugene and Springfield. These cities share stormwater infrastructure with the County and are also have NPDES permits with DEQ for their stormwater systems.  Together we strive to provide consistent stormwater messaging and regulation (as appropriate within each cities urban growth boundary) throughout the Eugene-Springfield Metro area.


In order to maintain our permit, the County is required to submit an annual report to DEQ every November.  Below are the annual reports submitted by Lane County and reviewed by DEQ for compliance with the 2019 – 2024 NPDES MS4 Phase II General Permit:

2021 MS4 Annual Report
2020 MS4 Annual Report

Need more information?

         Mauria Pappagallo
         Water Resources Coordinator
         [email protected]